Welcome (Bienvenido)

Almost two weeks ago as I prepared to leave DC and Georgetown I realized how wonderful the people are there. I realized that I want to keep in touch and swap stories while I am gone. So this blog in part serves that purpose – to share what I am doing in the hopes that my friends will also keep me posted on their lives.

But this blog will hopefully be more than a tool for people to know what I am doing. I would like it to be a way to tell the stories of the people who I will meet in the fall. Over the past year I worked with Casa Chirilagua, which is a relational ministry based in Chirilagua, a primarily immigrant neighborhood in Alexandria, VA. Casa Chirilagua is “learning together to love our neighbors as ourselves.” As I took the metro from Georgetown to Chirilagua and back I often felt that I was living in two separate communities and loving two groups of neighbors. At times God called me to be a bridge between two areas that both had joys and struggles but in very different ways. I was grateful for the times when Georgetown students came with me to Chirilagua or when Dawnielle (executive director of Casa Chirilagua) came to campus to speak. I wanted each community to learn from the other. But now, for the remainder of 2011, I have left Georgetown and Chirilagua. My hope is that this blog can be a bridge between the people that I care about on the US/Mexico border and whoever reads it.

Of course, as I write this I still have 3 months of summer before I leave for the Arizona/Mexico to work with recently deported immigrants at the Kino Border Initiative. As I draw closer to my time in Mexico I will post my summer reading list and perhaps a few reflections from my spring break experience with other Georgetown students at the border. But for now I decided to just post an initial explanation now that I have begun giving people the link for this blog. Thank you for reading!

This entry was posted in From the US. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome (Bienvenido)

  1. Melody C. Johnson says:

    Oh, Joanna. My heart was breaking with your posts. I’m praying for you and those you encounter. I know God is crying with you. I pray that you would continue to reach out with His heart, hands, and feet. Love you.

Leave a Reply

